On Meditation

Standard

Originally composed as “thoughts on meditation…” and posted on Facebook Notes Sunday, November 12, 2006 at 5:01pm

In my World Music Cultures class with Professor Koen, our final project deals with meditation. For 30 days we music incorporate meditation into our lives and record it in a journal which he will read at the end of the semester; most of our grade is based on this. Well…instead of the chanting and the humming and that he taught us how to do in class (because I felt that his meditation techniques focused on the self to resolve mental conflicts), I decided to research Christian meditation. And here are some of my findings….

Source: http://www.ccel.org/contrib/exec_outlines/ph/ph_18.htm

A Brief Study on Christian Meditation

There are two common Hebrew words used for meditation.

“hagah” which means “to murmur, mutter, to make a sound with the mouth. When used of “meditation” it implies what we express by talking to ourselves.

“shiyach” which means to talk with oneself.

Meditation in the Bible usually indicated a person considering something about God and quietly focusing his mind on that truth. Most often, scriptures in the Bible were the focus of meditation, but anything about God – His mercy, His love, His majesty, His power, His kindness – were all causes for meditation. Christian meditation is when we quietly reflect on the things of God. It is different from prayer in that we are not communing with God but we are reflecting on His Word or His attributes. It is not like eastern meditation, since we are always cognizant of our thoughts and we never enter into a trance-like state. The focus of Christian meditation is always on God, something about God, or on God’s care for us.

Scriptures about Meditation

Joshua 1:8
Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.

Psalm 48:9
Lord, here in your Temple we meditate upon your kindness and your love.

Psalm 119:27
Let me understand the teaching of your precepts; then I will meditate on your wonders.

Psalm 77:11-12
I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.

I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds.

Psalm 119:48
My eyes stay open through the watches of the night, that I may meditate on your promises.

Psalm 143:5
I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done.

Psalm 145:5
I will meditate about your glory, splendor, majesty, and miracles.

Psalm 77:5-6
I keep thinking of the good old days of the past, long since ended.

Then my nights were filled with joyous songs. I search my soul and meditate upon the difference now.

Psalm 119:14-16
I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches.

I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways.

I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.

Psalm 1:2
But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.

Portions of Scripture on which to Meditate

Psalm 91:1-4

Those who go to God Most High for safety will be protected by the Almighty.

I will say to the Lord, “You are my place of safety and protection. You are my God and I trust you.”

God will save you from hidden traps and from deadly diseases.

He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you can hide. His truth will be your shield and protection.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Psalm 119:9-15

How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word.

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Praise be to you, O Lord; teach me your decrees.

With my lips I recount all the laws that come from your mouth.

I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches.

I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways.

Footnotes:
This study on Christian Meditation © 1998 by David Humpal. All Rights Reserved.
All scriptures unless otherwise noted are from the New International Version © 1971, Zondervan Bible Publishers
Psalm 48:9 and 145:5 from The Living Bible © 1971, Tyndale House Publishers
Proverbs 3:5-6 from the New King James Version © 1984, Thomas Nelson Publishers
Leave a Reply

