THIS is why we don’t eat out…

Standard

I made dinner for Henry last week. We have severely limited our eating out. We are all too often disappointed when eat somewhere, or we feel guilty when we spend $60 at a restaurant when we can make the same meal at home for under $30 and have more fun.

Publix Greenwise Sirloin was on sale for $6.99/lb so I bought about 1lb, brushed it with kosher salt, McCormick’s garlic pepper grind and olive oil and attacked it with the meat tenderizer. It’s a pretty thick steak and I had a lot of side dishes planned, so I cut the steak into smaller, filet mignon-sized pieces.  We grilled two and I sealed the other two in a plastic bag and put them in the refrigerator. The meat cost about $9 and change, so I estimate that the each of our pieces for dinner cost $2.50 each, $5.o0 together.

We had bought small red potatoes on the way home from Atlanta at the state farmer’s market in Macon, Ga. I think we paid about $5 for 3-4lbs of potatoes. I cooked them all, adding to it 4 parsnips that were grown locally and bought at Tomato Land on Thomasville Rd. across the street from JoAnn Fabrics and Red Elephant.  I seasoned them with fresh dill (Tomato Land), garlic, kosher salt, and garlic pepper.

When I was at Publix I saw that mushrooms were on sale. I don’t really like mushrooms, but when they are pureed I don’t have to deal with their chewy texture and I can just enjoy their earthy, deep flavor. I pureed the mushrooms with garlic, kosher salt, olive oil, and red wine in the food processor and cooked the sauce in a small skillet. After the steaks came in off the grill, I served the sauce over the steak. Not great in the presentation department, I know – but it was yummy!

I steamed the garlic scapes I bought from the Lake Ella grower’s market on Wednesday with the green beans I bought that day at Tomato Land. Then, I lightly sauteed them in butter.

The salad was the simple: sliced Kirby cucumbers and chopped tomatoes from Tomato Land with a basil vinaigrette I made from basil we had in our backyard garden. Henry calls our African Blue Basil “zombie basil” because it died in the winter and came back from the dead this spring, sprouting all over the garden where we had never planted it. I prefer the taste of Genovese and sweet basil, but the thrill of eating “zombie basil” makes up for its camphor-like smell and furry texture.

One response »

  1. Wow! You have got the right idea, girl. I enjoyed reading your blog. I could almost smell the fragrance of each food delight you made. Thanks for sharing. Vicky

Leave a Reply

